We Are DNR

The Department of Natural Resources includes eight divisions and two offices: State Parks; Outdoor Recreation (separated from State Parks in 2021 into its own division); Oil, Gas and Mining; Forestry, Fire and State Lands; Water Resources; Water Rights; Wildlife Resources; and the Utah Geological Survey. The Public Lands Policy Coordinating Office and the Office of Energy Development were added in 2021 to provide closer collaboration.

The Utah Department of Natural Resources helps ensure the quality of life of Utah residents by managing and protecting the state’s natural resources by:

  • Enhancing the certainty and security of Utah’s water

  • Improving the health and resilience of our lands, resources, watersheds and wildlife

  • Advancing the stewardship of our public lands and natural history

  • Elevating outdoor recreation

  • Expanding Utah’s energy and minerals portfolio

As one of the state's largest agencies, DNR works closely with many organizations and has a variety of projects and initiatives underway:

Learn more about the Great Salt Lake Commissioner's Officeopens in a new tab

Learn more about Utah's Water Restoration Initiativeopens in a new tab

Learn more about Utah's Endangered Species mitigation fundopens in a new tab

Watch this short video to discover what we're all about!