Skip to content

Forestry, Fire and State Lands

Geological Survey

Oil, Gas and Mining

State Parks

Water Rights

Water Resources

Wildilfe Resources

OGM Director John Baza Appointed to National Petroleum Council

Utah Division of Oil, Gas and Mining (OGM) Director John Baza has been appointed by U.S. Secretary of Energy Rick Perry to serve as a member of the National Petroleum Council. His appointment runs through December 2019.

“I am honored to represent the state oil and gas regulatory authority in Utah and provide our unique advice, information, and recommendations,” commented Baza. “I am eager to solve oil and gas related challenges alongside the other representatives chosen to serve the nation through this valuable cooperative effort.”

The National Petroleum Council (NPC), a federally chartered and privately-funded advisory committee, was established by the Secretary of the Interior in 1946 at the request of President Harry S Truman. In 1977, the U.S. Department of Energy was established and the NPC’s functions were transferred to the new Department. The purpose of the NPC is solely to advise, inform, and make recommendations to the Secretary of Energy with respect to any matter relating to oil and natural gas or to the oil and gas industries submitted to it or approved by the Secretary. 

Baza has served as Director of OGM since May 2005 and administers the Division’s efforts in the areas of petroleum, coal and mineral mining, along with abandoned mine reclamation. He holds Bachelor of Science and Master of Science degrees in petroleum engineering from Stanford University. His work experience includes engineering positions with major and independent petroleum companies including Phillips Petroleum Co., Amoco Production Co., and Flying J Oil and Gas Inc. Baza has been in public service with the Utah Division of Oil, Gas and Mining over two different time periods dating back to 1984. 

In addition to his responsibilities as Division Director, he serves as the official representative for Utah Governor Gary Herbert on both the Interstate Mining Compact Commission (IMCC) and the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission (IOGCC).  He was elected as the First Vice-Chairman for the IOGCC for a one-year term in 2013.

# # #