Skip to content
Menu

Forestry, Fire and State Lands

Geological Survey

Oil, Gas and Mining

State Parks

Water Rights

Water Resources

Wildilfe Resources

STATE PARKS

The Utah Division of State Parks and Recreation is committed to enhancing the quality of life of all Utah residents by preserving and providing natural, cultural and recreational resources for the enjoyment, education and inspiration of this and future generations. The Division manages Utah’s 43 state parks, heritage sites and museums, which are explored by nearly 4 million visitors annually.

Through the Utah State Parks system, visitors can explore 23 lakes and reservoirs, including 1,346 square miles of freshwater; ride over 80,000 miles of ATV trails on some of the nation’s largest, and most spectacular tail systems; hike and bike 277 miles of trails or stay the night at one of the system’s 3,406 campgrounds.

Each state park is diverse and includes unique opportunities and amenities. Visitors can explore ancient Native American ruins at Anasazi State Park Museum, or observe wild bison and world famous Great Salt Lake waterfowl at Antelope Island State Park. Take in the majestic views at Dead Horse Point State Park one day and explore the sandstone goblins at Goblin Valley State Park the next. Visit the Wasatch Mountains by riding a 4,000 foot zip line in the morning at Deer Creek State Park, and follow it up with an afternoon of paddle boarding Jordanelle State Park.

The Division also manages the state’s Off-highway and boating programs. Utah State Parks administers and enforces Utah’s boating laws and rules and provides access, safety, education and search and rescue. The Division’s OHV program includes education, trail maintenance, grants, user compliance and enforcement and search and rescue. Both are designed to preserve and maintain high quality experiences while also providing resources that allow people to recreate safely.

How much does it cost to visit a park?

Each one of our 43 Utah State Parks has a different entry fee. To find the fee amount for the park you’re planning to visit, head over to the Utah State Parks and select the park you want. The park fee schedule is listed for each park.

Is my child required to wear a helmet when riding an OHV?

All OHV riders under 18 years-old are required by law to wear a DOT approved helmet. If you are riding in a side-by-side with a roll cage and seatbelts, helmets are not required but still encouraged. Helmets save lives.

Am I required to wear a life jacket or personal flotation device when boating?

Passengers 12 years-old and younger must wear a properly sized coast guard approved life jacket whenever a boat is being operated. Utah law requires all boats have at least one wearable coast guard approved life jacket for each person on board.

I got my child an OHV, are they legally allowed to ride it on public land?

Youth, 8-15 years of age, must have an OHV education certificate before operating an OHV on public land. In order to obtain a certificate, visit www.stateparks.utah.gov and click on OHV Education. You can take your certification course online.

I’m from another state. Am I allowed to ride my OHV when visiting Utah?

If you are visiting from out-of-state and planning on going riding, you need to check and ensure you have the proper registration. Certain states have reciprocity with Utah, meaning as long as you are registered within your state you are not required to register in Utah. Other states do require additional registration. Visit the OHV program to find the status of your state and learn how you can register you vehicle.

Site SettingsSettings