|About Utah State Parks & Recreation|
For more information, visit the Utah State Parks website.
Camping is a popular activity and many of Utah's state parks.
Utah boating and off-highway vehicle programs
Utah State Parks administers the State Boating Act on Utah waters, providing access, safety, education, search and rescue, and enforcement of Utah's boating laws and rules.
We also administer summer and winter off-highway vehicle (OHV) programs, including education, trail maintenance, grant programs, user compliance, accident investigation, and search and rescue.
The boating and OHV education programs are committed to the safety of all riders and operators. Together these programs certified more than 5,000 Utah children over the past year.Find out more about the Utah Division of State Parks and Recreation on the division's website: http://stateparks.utah.gov
Utah State Parks employs 250 experienced and committed recreation professionals. Curators, archeologists, law enforcement rangers, biologists, naturalists, accountants, recreation planners, and others ensure the future of parks and museums.
Aerial view of Wasatch Mountain State Park
Our agency is led by Utah State Parks Director Fred Hayes, Deputy Director Jeff Rasmussen, and the Board of Utah State Parks and Recreation. Board members are appointed by the governor and establish recreation policy based on public and agency input.
Frequently asked questions
Where can I buy an annual day-use state parks pass?
Annual Senior Adventure day-use passes are available for purchase at any state park, on our website at stateparks.utah.gov, and the Department of Natural Resources bookstore.
The Colorado River from Dead Horse Point State Park.
Can I bring my pet to a state park?
Yes. Pets are welcome at most state parks with the following exceptions: at Deer Creek State Park, they are allowed only in the campground; and at Jordanelle State Park, they are not allowed at all on the Rockcliff side. Pets are not allowed in buildings, on beaches, or in the lakes or reservoirs. Pets must always be on a maximum six-foot leash and never left unattended. Please remember that you must pick-up after your pets.
How do I make a camping reservation at a state park?
Camping reservations can be made on our website at stateparks.utah.gov or by calling our reservation office at (801) 322-3770 or toll-free at (800) 322-3770.
How far in advance can I make a camping reservation for a state park?
Individual campsite reservations are accepted up to 16 weeks in advance from your park departure date. For exact opening dates, please visit the reservations calendar on our website at stateparks.utah.gov/reservations. Opening dates begin at 8 a.m. for both the website and the reservation call center. Group reservations are accepted up to 11 months in advance of your park departure date.