About the Department of Natural Resources

The Utah Department of Natural Resources is responsible for ensuring that Utah's natural resources are protected, conserved and used wisely for the benefit of the citizens of the state. Our mission is to sustain and enhance Utah's quality of life today and tomorrow through the coordinated and balanced stewardship of our natural resources.

DNR building

Department of Natural Resources building in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The Department is lead by an executive director who is appointed by the governor of Utah. Our current executive director is Michael R. Styler. The Department of Natural Resources consists of seven divisions: Forestry, Fire & State Lands; Oil, Gas & Mining; Utah Geological Survey; Water Resources; Water Rights; and Wildlife Resources.

Map and bookstore Planning a trip to Utah's backcountry? Our bookstore carries one of the state's best selections of outdoor maps and books. More
DNR home Utah.gov Contact Terms of use Privacy policy Accessibility Site map
+ A